Powerhouse Radio Book Cover Image



0 Angelique Kidjo OYO

  • Video
  • by Kingsley H. Smith
  • 04/07/2010

Back in 2002 on Powerhouse Radio, I started playing "Iwoya," an Angelique Kidjo duet with Dave Matthews from her album, Black Ivory Soul, released that year.

Kidjo is a unique artist from West Africa, (Benin), mixing it up with a potpourri of eclectic world rhythms and soulful funky beats.

She's just released her 9th album, OYO, singing in both traditional and English languages.

James Brown's "Cold Sweat," and Curtis Mayfield's "Move on Up" (with John Legend & Bono) are a couple of the English language tracks.

Don't worry about the language barrier, as this is universal music.

Kidjo has unfortunately never received a lot of exposure in the USA. Perhaps this time around with a new album, things will change.

Her current tour is catering to her European fan base, with these 2010 dates:

  • April 11, Krefield, Germany - Kulturfabrik
  • April 12, Berlin, Germany - Kesselhaus
  • April 13, Hamburg, Germany - Fabrik
  • April 15, Frankfurt, Germany - Botfabrik
  • April 16, Cully, Switzerland - Cully Jazz Festival
  • April 17, Paris, France - La Cigale
  • April 20, Copenhagen, Denmark - Amager Bio
  • April 21, Helsinki, Finland - Savoy Theatre
  • April 22, Oslo, Norway - Cosmopolitan
  • April 24, Stockholm, Sweden - G?tak?llaren

Listen to Angelique, John Legend, and Bono sing "Move on Up" (59 seconds) from her new album, OYO.

Watch Angelique Kidjo & Joss Stone perform "Gimme Shelter," a blast from the past.

Previous Post | Next Post

Angelique Kidjo OYO
Home | Archive | Blog | Picture Sleeves | Airchecks | Contact | About