0 Sly Stone takes you Higher with Reissues

  • News
  • by Kingsley H. Smith
  • 03/15/2007

Over the next few months, several classic Sly & the Family Stone albums will be reissued on CD.

Teenage prodigy, producer, radio deejay, and musical powerhouse Sylvester Stewart also known as Sly Stone was a trend setter during the dawn of funk laced classic soul in the late 1960's.

Here are four Sly albums now back in the spotlight:

A Whole New Thing - Original release, 1967. No hits on this one, but it was his first collection. Out of the box, Sly & the Family Stone took a different approach fusing pop, rock, and soul.

Dance to the Music - Original release, 1967. One of the best creative albums released in 1967, featuring "Dance to the Music," "Dance to the Medley," and the original version of "Higher."

The track, "Are You Ready," hammers home the idea of ethnic tolerance, a reoccurring theme in several Sly Stone songs.

Life - Original release, 1968. Not as consistent as "Dance to the Music," but moving the Family Stone formula forward, with "M'Lady," "Love City," and more Sly enhanced fun.

Stand - Original release, 1969. Clearly, the best Sly & the Family Stone album. All 8 tracks sparkle with creative energy:

  1. "Stand!"
  2. "Don't Call Me Nigger, Whitey"
  3. "I Want To Take You Higher"
  4. "Somebody's Watching You"
  5. "Sing A Simple Song"
  6. "Everyday People"
  7. "Sex Machine"
  8. You Can Make It If You Try"

These four albums, along with several other Sly & the Family Stone collections, are scheduled for reissue in March, April, and May 2007.

What's a reissue without some previously unreleased tracks? To sweeten the pot, several bonus cuts will seed these legendary albums. Is that really necessary? Not really. The music is so good, new fans can easily turn on to the Sly & the Family Stone experience (without the bribes).

Previous Post | Next Post

Sly Stone takes you Higher with Reissues
Home | Archive | Blog | Picture Sleeves | Airchecks | Contact | About