1 9 Classics from Dionne Warwick

  • Songs
  • by Kingsley H. Smith
  • 04/05/2007

9 classic Dionne Warwick albums will be reissued on CD this May by Collector's Choice Music.

Her first six albums will be reissued. In all, nine of her first 10 classic pop and soul releases will hit the street this May 15th.

These are Dionne's great tracks from her Scepter and Warner Brothers years, remastered from the original tapes, featuring most of her amazing work with the Burt Bacharach - Hal David songwriting team.

1) Presenting Dionne Warwick: From 1963 including Dionne's first single, "Don't Make Me Over," and "Wishin' and Hopin'," (later a huge hit for Dusty Springfield).

2) Anyone Who Had a Heart: Released in 1964, features Dionne's first Top Ten hit "Anyone Who Had a Heart."

3) Make Way for Dionne Warwick: Released in 1964, featuring the Bacharach and David classics "Walk On By," and "Close To You," (a hit for the Carpenters in the 1970's).

4) The Sensitive Sound of Dionne Warwick: From 1965, featuring "Who Can I Turn To?" from the Broadway play The Roar of the Greasepaint -- The Smell of the Crowd.

5) Here I Am: Released in late 1965, containing nine Bacharach-David compositions out of 12 songs on the album.

6) Dionne Warwick in Paris: This is a remaster. Called "The Black Pearl" by her Parisian fans, Dionne Warwick was very popular in France before becoming a stateside favorite in the USA.
Her first live album was recorded at the Olympia Theater in Paris. Dionne Warwick in Paris was recorded on January 18, 1966.


7) Here Where There Is Love: Released in 1966. Ms. Warwick's first Top 20 pop charting album, and a No. 1 hit on the R&B charts.
Bacharach and David gems "Alfie," "What The World Needs Now," "Trains and Boats and Planes," and "I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself" are all here, along with a cover of Bob Dylan's "Blowin' in the Wind."


8) The Magic of Believing: A departure from her pop success and a tribute to her gospel roots, inspired by her mother Lee, a founding member of the Drinkard Singers with Cissy Houston.

9) Love at First Sight: Her last album for Warner Brothers Records in 1977, featuring New York City Brill Building songwriters Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil.

Dionne Warwick fans, spread the word.

Previous Post | Next Post

1 Comment

  • Felicia

    10/17/2007 13:32

    Love your reviews and music comments. When you get a chance, please check out our song, "To the Rescue." It will be featured in an upcoming movie starring Vanessa Williams and Eartha Kitt titled "And Then Came Love."
          9 Classics from Dionne Warwick
          Home | Archive | Blog | Picture Sleeves | Airchecks | Contact | About