0 Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Brothers

  • News
  • by Kingsley H. Smith
  • 07/06/2006

Just released, Atlantic Unearthed presents rare and unreleased tracks from the label's biggest classic soul and classic R&B male stars from 1967 - 1973.

  1. Can't Stop A Man In Love - Wilson Pickett (previously unreleased)
  2. How Does It Feel - Bobby Womack
  3. You Left The Water Running - Sam & Dave
  4. Rome Wasn't Built In A Day - Arthur Conley (previously unreleased)
  5. Book Of Memories - Percy Wiggins
  6. That's How It Feels - The Soul Clan
  7. I Love You More Than Words Can Say - Otis Redding
  8. Baby, Baby, Baby - Percy Sledge (previously unreleased)
  9. Hold On - James Carr
  10. Pouring Water On A Drowning Man - Otis Clay
  11. Lovebones - Mighty Sam
  12. Love Of My Woman, The - Darrell Banks
  13. Coldest Days Of My Life - Walter Jackson
  14. Whiter Shade Of Pale - R.B. Greaves
  15. Change With The Seasons - Carl Hall
  16. What A Woman Really Means - Donny Hathaway (previously unreleased)

Compared to Atlantic's Unearthed Soul Sisters, Unearthed: Soul Brothers contains even more rare tracks.

R.B Greaves, Percy Wiggins, and Darrell Banks gain deserved exposure next to well known legends Otis Redding, Bobby Womack, and Donny Hathaway.

There are two ways of looking at "previously unreleased" tracks. Were they lost in the music vaults, or did they not make the cut when originally recorded?

As a historic reflection of the classic soul era almost forty years later, I suspect Unearthed: Soul Brothers is a little bit of both. However, these artists were so good at their craft, that these adventurous tracks hold their own in 2006 with the best of the genre.

Previous Post | Next Post

Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Brothers
Home | Archive | Blog | Picture Sleeves | Airchecks | Contact | About