0 Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Sisters

  • News
  • by Kingsley H. Smith
  • 07/05/2006

Just released, Atlantic Unearthed presents rare and unreleased tracks from the label's biggest classic soul and classic R&B lady stars from 1964 - 1972.

Exceptional tracks from some women who are not household names are included as a big bonus.

Soul Sisters offers these wonderful gems:

  1. My Way - Aretha Franklin
  2. It's Growing - Margie Joseph
  3. 1-2-3-4-5-6-7 Count The Days - Patti LaBelle & The Bluebelles
  4. Please Little Angel - Doris Troy
  5. Hands Off My Baby - Mary Wells
  6. My Best Friend's Man - Dee Dee Sharp
  7. Rescue Me - Dee Dee Warwick
  8. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted - Baby Washington
  9. Full Time Woman - Irma Thomas
  10. I Got To Love Somebody's Baby - Judy Clay
  11. Cheater Man - Esther Phillips
  12. What A Man - Laura Lee
  13. Ain't Nothing Gonna Change Me - The Sweet Inspirations
  14. It Ain't Who You Know - Jackie Moore
  15. I Ain't That Easy To Lose - Bettye Swann
  16. Thankful For What I Got - Barbara Lewis

Dee Dee Warwick, Dionne's younger sister, never received big time promotion from any of her record labels. It's great to see her cover of the Fontella Bass hit included in this great collection.

Another interesting track is the Temptations "It's Growing," stylized here by Margie Joseph.

Aretha's version of Frank Sinatra's "My Way" showcases the song in a completely different light.

Atlantic did their homework when they put these songs together. Unearthed Soul Sisters is highly recommended. Released on Rhino Records.

Previous Post | Next Post


Atlantic Unearthed: Soul Sisters
Home | Archive | Blog | Picture Sleeves | Airchecks | Contact | About